About Katz Prize


The Katz Prize was established in 1975 by Marcos and Adina Katz in memory of Marcos' mother, Adela Katz, may her memory be a blessing.


Like all of mankind, the Jewish people are also living in a time of vast changes in all fields of life. We are witness to developments and breakthroughs, on an almost daily basis, in technology and the sciences in fields that affect our lives frequently- such as medicine, nutrition, the environment and more. These discoveries present questions and challenges that require clarification, on both the individual and national level.


This is the main goal of the Katz Prize - identification and recognition of individuals and projects that deal with the implementation of Jewish Law in modern-day life in written pieces of work and practical projects.

The Katz Prize is presented once a year in a special ceremony that takes place in Jerusalem. The Prize is a total of $25,000 for each recipient.


Previous Katz Prize winners include:

The late Rabbi Shay Zavin, the late Rabbi Yosef Dov HaLevi Soloveitchik, Rabbi Levi Yitzchak Halperin  (the Scientific and Technological Institute for Halachic problems, Jerusalem), the late Rabbi Shlomo Goren, the late Rabbi Yosef Kapach, Rabbi Rene Samuel Sirat (former Chief Rabbi of France), Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz (Israeli Institute for Talmudic Publications), Professor Menahem Alon (Supreme Court judge), Professor Nahum Rakover, Professor Yehuda Felix, Professor Nahum Lamm, Rabbi Eliezer Yehuda Waldenberg, Rabbi Dr. Immanuel Jakobovits, Professor Ze'ev Lev, Rabbi Professor Avraham Steinberg, Rabbi Naftali Zvi Yehuda Bar-Ilan, The Zomet Institute (Teams of Scientists and Torah scholars who research, consult and implement Halacha in Alon Shvut) the Otzar HaPoskim project in Jerusalem and the Shaare Zedek Medical Center.


The Katz Prize Committee 2016:

Professor Menahem Ben-Sasson, Rabbi Haim Sabato and Rabbi Adin (Even-Israel) Steinsaltz.



קרן כץ



Katz Foundation

Marcos and Adina Katz

Katz Foundation Ⓒ 1975